What Makes a Woman Want to Have an Abortion?

What Makes a Woman Want to Have an Abortion?

The  line that caught my eye was regarding al-Jazeera’s “Abortion Wars” movie (which I am surprised that I have neither seen nor even heard of.  I should have my feminism card yanked. But also, from al-Jazeera?) in which an anti-abortion politician from Ohio was asked why he thought women sought out abortions.  His answer:

“The Republican legislator grimaces and fidgets in his seat. “Well, there’s probably a lot of reasons.” He lets out a little laugh when admitting, “I’m not a woman,” then continues to think aloud. “So I’m thinking, if I’m a woman, why would I have to… some of it has to with economics. A lot of it has to do with economics. I don’t know, I never—it’s a question I’ve never even thought about.” [emphasis mine].

F**k you.  Now I admit that I may have high standards when it comes to politicians, even in states I will never live in, but this is ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

